Holy Orders

“Becoming a priest or a man or woman religious is not primarily our own decision…. Rather it is the response to a call and to a call of love.”

Pope Francis

“Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.”

The call to priesthood or consecrated life is a beautiful one. It is an intimate and intensive way that God involves us in His project of salvation. Discernment can be a long and difficult process, which is why the Diocese of Grand Rapids offers programs and resources to support individuals discerning priesthood and religious life. For more information click here.

Receive the Gospel of Christ,
whose herald you have become.
Believe what you read,
teach what you believe,
and practice what you teach.
(Rites of Ordination – Deacon)